Guns, Impossibly Beautiful Women, Nice Rides and Politics


Monday, October 21, 2013

Refs Win in Patriots - Jets Matchup

Here is the New Rule as it was before yesterday's Patriots - Jets Game

Via Jeff Howe of the Boston Herald, Belichick said after the game that he “disagrees with the penalty for pushing,” and that “there wasn’t a push in the second level that would require a flag.”

Belichick was right. Jones was in fact on the line of scrimmage not in the second level. There was no pushing from the second level into the offensive line.
Belichick made his comments at his post game presser at around 5 o’clock. In the ensuing confusion, the NFL’s official site made an edit on a post about the rule that was first posted a month and a half ago:
Approx 1.5 hours later the rule is changed to match the circumstances of the referees call. Appears an update was made at 6:29 PM

And like magic, the part about players not on the line of scrimmage at the snap was mysteriously gone:
As a result of the refs call the Jets are awarded a new set of downs and another chance at a field goal closer in to the goal posts.


No comments:

Post a Comment